Show/Hide

Central and Mariners Libraries have reopened Monday through Saturday from 9 a.m. to 6 p.m. with modified services and hours. Balboa is open for curbside services Monday - Saturday, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. Corona del Mar is open for curbside services Monday - Friday, 9 a.m. - 6 p.m. All programs and storytimes are currently cancelled until further notice.    

Orange County Register collection web button (002)

Click here to access the Orange County Register through NewsBank.

Temporary barcode users, please put "NBPL" in front of your library card number.

Learn a new language for free, for fun, for travel, for life, Rosetta Stone,now available online
Novelist

Databases

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

A valid NBPL library card is all you need to access most of our online resources from home or any other location.

Art & Literature

  • AskART
    This database can only be used at the library.
  • AskART is an online database containing over 350,000 international artists, biographies, and art auction records.
  • Literature Resource Center
    A literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user.
  • Novelist Plus *
    A fiction and non-fiction database that provides author, title, and subject access, series information and more. Unabridged and abridged audiobooks can also be searched. 
  • Novelist Plus K-8 *
    Specializes in book information geared towards children and young adults.
  • OverDrive eBooks & Audiobooks *
    Wide selection of downloadable eBooks, audiobooks, magazinesand streaming video for all ages.


Business and Investments

  • ABI/Inform *
    Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Business oriented resources for large, small and privately owned companies.
  • AtoZ Databases *
    Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Offers 30 million business & executives profiles, 220 million residents, 2.3 million job/internship opportunities, Interview Tips, Résumé Templates, and more.
  • Business Plans Handbook
    Digital version of the Business Plans Handbook series.
  • Gale Directory Library
    Search directories of associations and broadcast media companies.
  • Hoover’s Company Records*
    Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Find up to date proprietary editorial content covering more than 40,000 public and non-public companies and 225,000 key executives.
  • Morningstar
    A resource for insightful information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds and more. 
  • Rand California
    This database can only be used at the library
    Provides state and local level statistical information.
  • Realquest
    This database can only be used at the library and requires staff assistance to log on
    Online property information and values.
  • Reference USA*
  • Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Provides directory information for U.S. businesses and residents.
  • S & P NetAdvantage *
    Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Provides independent credit ratings, indices, risk evaluation, investment research and data.
  • ValueLine*
    Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource:  Online version of The Value Line Investment Survey.


Genealogy

  • Ancestry Library Edition
  • This database can only be used at the library
    Genealogy research database which includes billions of names. Provided by the generous support of the Friends of the Library. 
  • AtoZ Databases *
  • Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: The database offers demographic studies, genealogy, background searching, finding friends, and relatives and more.
  • HeritageQuest Online
  • Genealogy research with coverage dating back to the late 1700s. Provided by the generous support of the Friends of the Library.


Job Seekers - New!

  • Brainfuse JobNow & VetNow
    Adult learning center with live help as well as resume and interview preparation.
  • Career Tools
    Pursue a new career and gain advice on resumes, cover letters, interviews, and networking.


Legal Reference 


Lifelong Learning Tools

  • Gale Virtual Reference Library
    Search full-text ebooks on a wide variety of topics, including arts, business, history, science, social science and more.
  • Rosetta Stone
    Newly upgraded to include multiple levels! Learn languages from home using the Rosetta Stone online database.
  • Testing & Education Reference Center
    Provides users with in-depth information on colleges and universities, graduate and professional programs, distance learning and more.
  • Udemy 
    Over 4,000 free self-paced online courses in a wide variety of topics. Create a free account using your Gmail or Microsoft email account. You will not be able to access Udemy if you are using a VPN to connect to the internet. 


Magazines and Newspapers

    • Consumer Reports *
      Online version of the Consumer Reports magazine. 
    • Historical Newspapers - Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access these resources:
    • Flipster*
      Access popular digital magazines on your mobile device with Flipster. Download and read magazines anytime and anywhere for free with the Library's subscription to this digital newstand.
    • Local Newspaper Historical Records *
      A digitized collection of local publications from the 1940's to the early 2000's, including Newport Beach Times, Newport Beach Ensign and The Daily Pilot
    • National Geographic Magazine
      Featuring the complete archive of the magazine from 1888 to present day, a People, Animals and the World module as well as access to NG Kids.
    • Orange County Register*
      Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Search more than 30 years of Orange County history with The Orange County Register Collection through NewsBank. Coverage from 1987 through current.
    • OverDrive Magazines*
    • Over 3,700 free digital magazine subscriptions available on desktop computers, laptops and mobile devices.
    • ProQuest Magazines and Journal articles*
      Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Full text articles from over 20,000 magazines, newspapers, and journals, including current issues of the Los Angeles Times, Wall Street Journal, and New York Times.


    Student Resources

    • ABC Mouse *
      The award-winning ABCmouse curriculum is designed to help young children (ages 2-8+) build a strong foundation for future academic success.  
    • Ancient and Medieval History *
      Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Offers online resources and videos of the histories for eight major civilizations.
    • AtoZ Databases *
      Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Offers 2.3 million job/internship opportunities, Interview Tips, and Résumé Templates.
    • Biography in Context
      Includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
    • Britannica School Edition 
      Britannica offers up to date information on a wide variety of subjects for Elementary, Middle, and High School ages.
    • CultureGrams*
      Temporary Barcode users please put NBPL in front of your barcode to access this resource: Provides concise cultural and statistical snapshots of every country recognized by the United Nations.
    • Gale Archives Unbound
      Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents that support the research and study needs of scholars and students at the college and university level.
    • Gale in Context: Elementary (formerly Kids InfoBits)
      A database developed especially for beginning researchers in Kindergarten through Grade 5.
    • Gale Virtual Reference Library
      Search full-text ebooks on a wide variety of topics, including arts, business, history, science, social science and more.
    • Literature Resource Center
      A literature reference database designed for both the undergraduate and graduate student as well as the sophisticated casual user.
    • National Geographic Kids
      Research people, cultures and animals using resources from National Geographic.
    • Opposing Viewpoints
      Collects " for" and "against" articles based on social issues.
    • Testing & Education Reference Center
      Provides users with in-depth information on colleges and universities, graduate and professional programs, distance learning and more.
    • Tuition Funding Sources *
      Offers students the largest scholarship database in the world with over $41 Billion in scholarship awards along with a career personality test and detailed college and career information. When you register, choose "school from California" in the list of schools.
    • Tumblebooks *
      An online collection of animated, talking picture books.
    • World Book Encyclopedia
      Access to the online version of the World Book Encyclopedia, including:
      • World Book Kids: Offers simpler navigation, thousands of colorful illustrations, diagrams, and maps, and dozens of activities tied to national curriculum standards.
      • World Book Student: Designed for elementary and middle-school students, this popular resource includes built in features and tools to help make learning accessible.
      • World Book Advanced: For the advanced student and adults, Advanced offers deeper comprehension and up to the minute access to worldwide news.
      • World Book Timelines: Search more than 650 pre-generated timelines and 14,000 event in a highly interactive and customizable database.  Investigate the chronological significance of world events and the lives of notable historical figures.
      • World Book eBooks: Over 2,500 titles, including World Book exclusive content and classic literature (novels, plays, poems, and nonfiction).
      • World Book Activity Corner: Contains thousands of cross-curricular, low-cost, fun yet educational projects for the classroom, after school programs, and library programming. 
      • World Book Discover: Assist differentiated learners and older adults with a research database that offers a practical Life Skills section. A collection of unique videos, featuring expert answers to often asked questions, and a visual dictionary make content more accessible for readers of all levels.
      • World Book Enciclopedia Estudiantil Hallazgos: This dedicated Spanish-language database contains videos, compare-and-contrast features, selected articles, and a visual dictionary to allow ESL students and Spanish-learners the chance to learn. Integrated with World Book Kids for parallel English-language content.
    *Accessible with Temporary Card number.